THE PROJECT

The engineers of tomorrow will have to master not only technical and scientific knowledge, but also skills that will enable them to work easily in a globalized world, in multicultural and interdisciplinary teams.

Since 2012, Missions InterÉTS projects have enabled ÉTS students to acquire new knowledge and skills in the field of industry, technology and university research abroad. This knowledge and these skills are established in a country where ÉTS has links with scientific and industrial collaborations. The selected students come from different fields (mechanical engineering, construction engineering, electrical engineering, software engineering and information technology engineering, logistics operations engineering and automated production engineering ) and stand out for their interest in engineering at the international level.

When visiting companies and universities in the host country, students discover and learn different approaches and models in technology, management, innovation, entrepreneurship, engineering education, interpersonal skills And much more. The missions were very successful in Denmark (2012), Sweden (2013), Germany (2014), the United Kingdom (2015), Japan (2016) and China (2017). In April 2018, the mission will take place on the Canada-US West Coast, a modern region with high technological potential.

MISSION PREPARATION

In the months leading up to the mission, selected students prepare intensely for weekly meetings that include interviews with experts from the host country, readings and even Skype exchanges with students from the host country to prepare for their arrival. These pre-departure apprenticeships are then validated in the companies and universities visited.

RETURN OF MISSIONS

Returning from these demanding journeys due to their frantic pace of observations, technical analysis and exchanges with international specialists, students return from their stay abroad with innovative ideas. They write a mission report, a rigorous process framed by the program managers. The report is presented to our partners who can thus realize the importance of these exchanges and benefit from the observations acquired during the trip.

Our business partners can continue to connect with students and sometimes recruit future interns or engineers for their own organization.

Les Missions Technologiques

LE PROJET

Les ingénieurs de demain devront maîtriser non seulement des savoir-faire sur le plan technique et scientifique, mais également des savoir-être qui leur permettront de travailler aisément dans un monde globalisé, au sein d’équipes multiculturelles et interdisciplinaires.

Depuis 2012, les différentes missions ont permis aux étudiants en ingénierie à l’ÉTS d’acquérir de nouveaux savoir-faire au niveau de l’industrie, des technologies et de la recherche universitaire à l’international dans un pays avec lequel l’ÉTS entretient des liens de collaborations scientifiques et industrielles. Les étudiants sélectionnés proviennent de différents génies (mécanique, construction, électrique, logiciel et technologies de l’information, opérations logistiques et gestion de la production automatisée) et se démarquent par leur intérêt marqué pour l’ingénierie dans sa dimension internationale.

Lors de visites d’entreprises et d’universités dans le pays hôte, les étudiants découvrent et s’inspirent des approches et des modèles différents en technologie, en gestion, en innovation, en entrepreneuriat, dans la formation des ingénieurs, dans les relations interpersonnelles et bien plus encore. Les missions se sont déroulées avec grand succès au Danemark (2012), en Suède (2013), en Allemagne (2014), au Royaume-Uni (2015), au Japon (2016) et en Chine (2017). En avril 2018, la mission se déroulera sur la Côte Ouest canado-américaine, une région avant-gardiste au haut potentiel technologique.

PRÉPARATIFS DE MISSION

Pendant les mois précédant la mission, les étudiants sélectionnés se préparent intensément lors de séminaires hebdomadaires qui comprennent des entrevues avec des experts du pays hôte, par des lectures et même des échanges par Skype avec des étudiants du pays hôte afin de préparer leur arrivée. Ces apprentissages pré-départ sont ensuite validés sur le terrain dans les entreprises et les universités visitées.

AU RETOUR DES MISSIONS

Au retour de ces voyages souvent très exigeants en raison de leur rythme effréné d’observations, d’analyses techniques et d’échanges avec des spécialistes à l’international, les jeunes universitaires reviennent de leur séjour à l’étranger avec des idées novatrices. Ils rédigent un rapport de mission, une démarche rigoureuse encadrée par les responsables du programme. Le rapport est présenté à nos généreux partenaires qui peuvent ainsi réaliser l’importance de ces échanges et profiter des observations acquises lors du voyage.

Nos partenaires du milieu des affaires peuvent continuer à entretenir des liens avec les étudiants et parfois, recrutent leurs futurs stagiaires ou ingénieurs pour leur propre organisation.